2015: A year in review

We’re four days into the new year, and I’m finally turning back to my blog to write about my average musings and document my misadventures. When I last sat down to write a post, I was struggling in the job hunt post-grad. Well, I don’t have a full-time job yet, which is actually still terrifying, but I’m working and living in NYC and loving my internship. Adulting isn’t easy. It’s one of the hardest journeys I’ve ever embarked on, but here I am reflecting on this past year. Who knows what the hell this first full year as an actual adult has in store for me. Oh, and I’ll also chat about this lesson I’ve learned about New York: T-Swift lied. I’ll explain in a bit.

  1. Ventured to New Orleans for one of the best spring break adventures with my darling roommate, Kelsey. I lived with her for two years, and now that we aren’t even in the same state anymore, I feel weird. But I love her so much, and I’m so glad we had the chance to be roommates. Stark and Cap forever.
  2. Graduated from Ohio University. I did it. I’m a college grad. And I learned that nothing can actually prepare you for the real world. No amount of classes can teach you what you really need to know. Dealing with shit landlords? Bills? Taxes? Fending for yourself? Sure, it helps with the job that you end up finding, but in the meantime (and for everything else) you’re on your own. Good luck out there, kids. It’s daunting.
  3. Spent four months at home unemployed and on the job hunt. This was terrifying. I had no idea what I was going to do with my life or if I was going to find some semblance of stability. I wasted so much time being scared that I forgot to enjoy the final summer break of my life.
  4. Which brings me to a lesson I learned: having a break isn’t the worst. It allowed me to recharge and breathe. After having the majority of my life planned out for me, this was the first time I was on my own. I mean, I lived at home, but the next step was mine to pursue. This was me trying to figure things out. I got to show three of my greatest friends my hometown and take them to Chicago for an adventure. I got to watch my sister graduate from high school. I got to take her down for her student orientation at my alma mater (YAY BOBCATS). I got to spend time with my grandmother. I got to explore Grand Rapids with two of my best friends and make new friends. I got to eat all the Mexican food my heart desired. I got to relax with my family up at the cabin on Mooselookmeguntic and take some of the best people I know with me. We explored waterfalls and went white water rafting and took a trip to Portland and hiked up mountains and just hung out. I got to see old high school friends I haven’t seen in years. And then I even got to move my sister into her freshman dorm. This summer was beautiful, even though it was slightly scary.
  5. I got an internship with Business Insider as an entertainment writer to start in mid-October, and this was where my next adventure started.
  6. I made a pitstop in Cleveland to visit friends and then I was headed out to New York for this next part of my life.
  7. I lived on Long Island with the Nachman family for a while. When I moved, the threat of Hurricane Joaquin was imminent and made for a very wet welcome. Bless Carolyn and her fam for giving me shelter while I tried to find a house in the city. It’s not the easiest. And the two-hour commute I had made it impossible to relax, but I’m forever thankful for everything they did to make this new transition easier for me.
  8. While living on the island though, I got to explore some beautiful wineries up north and met one of my dad’s old high school friends while at a Halloween party. He’s the dad of one of Carolyn’s LI friends. I guess that happens when my dad grew up on Long Island and then moved to the Midwest as an adult. It truly is a small world.
  9. Carolyn and I drove to Athens for Homecoming where we got to spend a glorious weekend with old friends.
  10. I saw the Islanders play at Barclays. Let’s go Isles!
  11. I started my job. I love my job. I wish I knew what was happening at the end of six months instead of being afraid of the instability of my life.
  12. I moved in with three dudes I had never met before and now live in Harlem with them and a cat. I feel like the new “New Girl.”
  13. I pretended to be a tourist and finally got to visit the Statue of Liberty, as well as the World Trade Center.
  14. I’ve brunched in Brooklyn more times than I care to admit and just want to continue doing so.
  15. I got lost and ended up on the High Line. I also got lost once and ended up in Chinatown.
  16. I got to see what the city is like at Christmas, and it is magical.
  17. I got to see comedians at the Comedy Cellar and meet John Legend in his green room after seeing him perform and I lived my dream of seeing John Gallagher Jr. live. I’ve explored Central Park and Marcus Garvey Park and Bryant Park and Washington Square Park and Madison Square Park and Union Square. I danced at Stonewall and got to reunite with two friends I met three years ago in London.
  18. I spent Thanksgiving with my ex-aunt and her family on Long Island, because even though she may not be legally related to me anymore, I love her and her new family so much
  19. I flew home for Christmas and was reunited with my baby, Cocoa. I also made 15 pounds of tamales with my mom. I was reunited with old high school friends.
  20. I rang in the New Year in New York City with two of my best friends and some Long Island friends. It was a mess. But it was a memorable mess, and I will never ever forget dancing on the subway, and I’ll forever wonder how I managed to get some of us back to Queens that night after we were separated. I’m glad I’m still fairly great with directions.
  21. As for the lesson I learned about Taylor Swift being a liar? Well, New York isn’t waiting for you. New York doesn’t care about you. It’s filthy and filled with rats. You’ll see people drop their pants and pee on the Subway. You’ll see people fight and yell at each other and you’ll think that chivalry is dead and you’ll learn that people have zero patience and that drivers in this city honk like it will solve the traffic problem. You’ll feel overwhelmed and hate having to lug laundry down to a laundromat and gawk at the unnecessarily high cost of living in this city. But you’ll fall in love with certain places that make your heart swell. You’ll see random acts of kindness that give you a new sense of hope, and you’ll make memories with friends that give new meaning to a location. There’s never a dull moment. This city is honestly what you make of it.

So here’s to this past year. I learned a lot and moved more than I wanted, but I still have so much to learn. I don’t know what’s happening when my internship ends, but here’s to hoping I figure that out soon (like within the next two months). I’m going to keep this blog updated to track my progress and not forget a single moment of the year. That’s my resolution: write at least once a week. Stay tuned for next week when I write about having two of my best friends visit me in the city. It’s going to be a grand old time.

 

Leave me a comment!

