What’s next?

It’s been nine months since I last wrote on here, and a lot has transpired since then.

My journey back from Los Angeles took me to the Grand Canyon, the Hoover Dam, Las Vegas, Mesa Verde and St. Louis. I headed back to Ohio University for my senior year, grew closer with friends I’ve had since freshman year, made new friends I wish I had more time to spend with, celebrated my last OU Halloween with my best friends from home and best friends from Athens, saw my favorite band (Bastille) in concert, said good-bye to friends who graduated early, spent Christmas with family in Florida, traveled down to New Orleans with my roommate for an unforgettable spring break, listened to a more jazz than I could have ever imagined and loved every second of it, adventured through Hocking Hills for the first time, celebrated my final International Week at OU, attended my final OU A Capella Invitational, sang in my final choir concert (something I’ve been doing for 11 years), spent my final weekend in OU as a student with the people who have become my family over the past four years and I graduated.

I’ve now been home for a little over a week, and for the first time in my life, I have no idea what’s next. My life has fallen together over the past four years, and I’ve been incredibly blessed for that. So now that I have no idea where I’m headed and feel like I have no idea what to do, I’m trying to figure it out.

I know where I want to be, and I’m trying to get there, but there’s only so much I can do. When is it okay to officially freak out? When is it okay to lose my mind? I have to learn how to be okay with taking a different path than I had planned. I have to be okay with uncertainty, and that takes some getting used to. I’m not there yet.

But tonight, three of my friends from school are coming to my home for a few days, and for the first time since I’ve been back, I’m certain that I’m incredibly lucky to have the friends and family I do. I’m certain that I love what I’m doing, I’m certain that I love where I’m headed and I’m certain that I’m excited for the future. My next big adventure might be hidden from my view for now, but I need to grasp a hold of what I am certain of and hang on for dear life.

Leave me a comment!

