Starting over

It’s January 2nd, and I’m staring at my to-do list struggling to determine where I should start. I have a week until I head back down to school, and my motivation level is at an all time low. All I want to do is finish my Game of Thrones novels (on three of five) and watch some Hulu/Netflix and hang out with my friends, but that’s not how I should start this year off. This time last year, I started my blog to document my adventures in London. I talked about how scared and excited I was. I had resolutions and goals for my time abroad. 2013 was everything I could have asked for and more. I met new friends, saw parts of the world I never thought I would, experienced history firsthand, met celebrities, went to TV show tapings, got on TV, went to concerts, interviewed some amazing folks and made memories with the greatest people in the world. 2014 just started, and it’s a chance to start over, but what if I don’t want to? I just want to continue last year’s amazingness and never have it stop. But it can’t. It has to start over, because I’m not going back, and my life isn’t continuing yet. At this point in life, it’s just stopping and restarting over and over and over again. You intern, you work, you study, you finish semesters and you do it again. I’m done with it. I’m over it. I’m ready to continue. Since I can’t just yet, I’ve come up with some cliché goals for the year to make it the best it can be. Much can change in a matter of days, so even though I feel like this year can’t hold anything too exciting for me, I could be dead wrong. And that both terrifies and excites me all the same.

  • Be brave
  • Work hard, i.e. stay on top of assignments, actually read for classes
  • Write more for myself
  • Read at least a book a month…for my sanity 
  • Learn how to cook a new meal once a month
  • Stay organized
  • Do what traveling I can 
  • Celebrate my 21st the way I want to and not what others want
  • Don’t forget to breathe  

In the wise words of Hannah Montana, “life’s what you make it, so let’s make it rock.” 

One thought on “Starting over

Leave me a comment!

