Out of the box

For those of you who don’t know, Out of the Box was a TV show that featured these two lovely people who transformed a pile of boxes into a wonderful hideaway where music and arts and crafts were the norm. It was a brilliant show to wake up to, and the theme song was my jam.

But unfortunately, that’s not what I’m talking about here. I just finished transferring some of my belongings from a box that stays in Indiana to a box that will go with me to Athens in the fall. As I was moving things around, I realized that I am sick of living my life out of boxes.

And before you tell me that it’s not so bad, just hear me out.

When I was in third grade, my father told my sister and I to pack everything we owned into boxes because he was going to remodel our house. It’s been 14 years, and the house is still under construction so most everything is still in boxes. I’ve found toys I haven’t seen in years and clothes that will never again fit me (or ever be fashionable).

After I graduated from high school, I had to dig through boxes to pack for college. Then at the end of my freshman year, I repacked everything and brought it back to my house where I still lived out of boxes.

Then I moved everything back to Athens for a semester. In December, I brought everything back home and packed my life into a backpack and suitcase to take with me to London. At the end of five months, I repacked my life and brought it back to America. Now, I have to pack everything up once more to move to Athens for another year. Once this year is up, I’ll be packing everything and moving it again. Then comes graduation, and I can’t say how many times I’ll be packing and repacking my life into boxes as I move and hopefully start a job. The only point in my life where I won’t have to completely repack everything every year or so will be when I finally settle down.

That’s a weird thought, especially when I’m so tired of living my life out of boxes. Boxes mean adventure, and I look forward to each and every one, but man, I am tired of having to repack and pack my life.

Okay, rant over. Back to happiness!

Leave me a comment!

