Catching up

So I haven’t written anything in a while. March has been a bit overwhelming with final projects to do and things to do, but let me reach back to a little less than a month ago to remember.

First off, it has been unfathomably cold in London this past month (the coldest in the past fifty years if I remember correctly). They told us it didn’t snow, but it snowed on today, and it’s April 4. This is absolutely crazy, and I’m kind of sick of it; however, my spring break starts tomorrow. One more class and one essay stands between me and a three week adventure to Berlin, Prague, Krakow, Florence, Rome, Rhodes and Athens. Then it’s back to London for a final month (NOOO) of adventures. I’m hoping to make it to a few English cities in that time and complete the rest of London to-do list. I also have two finals to return to in May, but I’m not worried about it.

So what has happened since I last wrote? Well, I saw Supernanny and Prince Charles’ stepson on Loose Women when I went to an episode taping with my friends. I saw Billy Elliot for the first time and absolutely loved every moment of it. The whole musical was brilliantly performed, and the music was fantastic. I also loved seeing Killian Donnelly (who happened to be in the Les Mis movie) as the older brother, and he was great. I love the West End.

I got tickets to see One Direction on the April 6. THAT IS IN TWO DAYS. Commence freakout.

I saw the film Stoker. I can’t even explain my thoughts on the movie except that it was the best ‘oh my goodness what am I watching, how, what, can’t even’ movie I’ve seen in a while.

I spent a true St. Patrick’s Day in London watching performances in Trafalgar Sqaure, listening to an Irishman sing Galway Girl and hanging out in Irish pubs. It was a day well spent.

I got lost for the first time in London, but I’ll spare the details, because I’d rather not remember my ONE WORD mistake. Commercial Road…Commercial Street….no maps….yeah. So that was fun.

I encountered a feisty tube conductor who made my day with his sassy comments.

And then I attempted to change fate and have the Harries twins reach out to me after I wrote them a love letter (http://thepostculture.wordpress.com/2013/03/24/an-open-love-letter-to-the-harries-twins/). Unfortunately my efforts have proved futile, and it appears that fate does what it does with no chance of changing it.

I won a scholarship award from Scripps for next year. Felt honored about that. I also scheduled my classes for next fall. I will be busy with those 20 credit hours. Phew.

My best friends Kara and Kelsey returned for a few days with their friend Dannae, and we had some tourist-y adventures. One such adventure was going to the top of St. Paul’s cathedral and admiring the beautiful view of the city. It was well worth the price to go up, although my legs were tired from the 500-odd stairs we had to climb.

I celebrated Easter by attending the Oxford vs. Cambridge boat race (go Oxford!) with Heather and her parents. That was an amazing experience, but it was frigid, so we didn’t stay too long. When I returned to my flat, there was a potluck feast that many of the students in my program contributed to, so I chowed down and enjoyed every moment of it. We finished Easter by watching The Dark Knight Rises.

All is well in London. Now, I don’t know what I’m doing this summer. I haven’t heard back from any internships, and although the feeling is a bit unsettling, I also am not worried. I have faith that everything will turn out, and if it doesn’t, well, my life is still great. I’ll have spent a beautiful semester abroad, I will have seen my favorite boy band perform (twice), I’ll have met some wonderful celebrities, I’ll have gained tons of friends and I’ll have made once-in-a-lifetime memories. I can spend the summer with my beautiful grandma, I can spend the summer swimming in my pool, I can spend my summer with my family at the Maine lake house or I can spend the summer at a successful internship. I guess we’ll see what God has in store for me.

Until next time.

Leave me a comment!

