Proper football, fashion and fun

Well, it’s been a little while since I last updated this blog on my overseas adventures, so I figured it’s about time I did. Since Paris, not much has happened aside from completing my first few assignments for class. But let me tell you, that was terrifying. 

  • Referencing is different
  • Citations are different
  • Spelling is different
  • Research is done differently
  • Everything is different

But I survived, and hopefully I did all right.

A few things that happened since last update.

  • I swear I saw Nick Grimshaw in SoHo, and I then proceeded to freak out about it all day.

For those who don’t know, Grimshaw is a BBC Radio Host and happens to be best friend with Harry Styles. If you know me, you understand the significance of being so close.

  • I experienced the chaos of the tube on a football game night.

The game was England vs. Brazil at Wembley, and it was nuts. People were screaming Wembley and proceeding to fall over drunk. There was barely space to stand. And I loved every second of it. And England won, so there’s that.

  • I introduced my British friends to American things like Prezi, the term college, and the concept of going to uni for four years.
  • Watched the BAFTAs in all their non-commercial glory.
  • Fell in love with British TV show My Mad Fat Diary and consequently with the actor who plays Finn.
  • Celebrated pancake day at a diner that serves spiked shakes.
  • Spent Galentine’s Day with the gals and ate dinner at La Bodega Negra.

This place is significant because the food is delicious, and also, Harry Styles ate there for his birthday. ……. Anyway, the food was absolutely superb. We were a tad nervous when going to eat there, because the outside really does not look like a restaurant. It’s kind of a bit shady, but I won’t ruin it for you. Just go and enjoy it. 

  • Spent valentine’s day watching Hitchcock, which was perfect to fit my mood about that holiday. 
  • Visited Fashion Week a few times

Yes, everyone was gorgeous. Yes, I felt inadequate. Yes, it was awesome watching people walk in. Yes, I would love to spend more time there. It made me realize how badly I want to succeed in entertainment journalism, so there’s that. Also, Somerset House is gorgeous. 

  • Went to Fleet Street.
  • Went to a proper football match.

We saw Chelsea play this weekend, and it was everything a proper football game should be. They defeated Brentford 4-0, scoring all four in the second half after a not-so-great first. I’m not necessarily a Chelsea fan, but since Manchester is a bit expensive to get to, I was alright with Chelsea. The experience was phenomenal, the fans were great, the day was beautiful, and the game was perfect. I love the English love of the game. 

And that’s my life. Tomorrow I get all fancied up and go to the BRIT awards. FREAKING OUT. But that’s a different post for a different  day. 

Leave me a comment!

