Shopping, Baths, and School

Well I feel like I haven’t written in days, and maybe that’s because it has been five days since my last post, but I have a great excuse– life. When sitting down to reflect upon the past few days, I realize how much one does in a day. It’s been one heck of a ride thus far, but I hit a bit of a rough patch recently. This rough patch consists of a physical ailment making me sound like death and making me nap my life away. I can’t talk like a human, I can’t breathe like I should, and I want to sleep all day long. What a way to start this first week of classes, eh? But let’s rewind a bit and head to Friday the 11 shall we? Friday was the day trip to Camden for Camden Market, and I can already guarantee that I will be there multiple times this whole trip. Camden itself is beautiful, but the street lined with small shops and outdoor markets makes it all the better. I was able to get my Union Jack sweater there which has been on my to-buy list for quite some time. There was just so much to look at and people were constantly asking you if you wanted to buy something. There was also some street entertainment in the form of this girl jamming with her acoustic guitar, and she was absolutely wonderful. Fun fact: Amy Winehouse lived in Camden.

On Sunday, a group of us left Wembley at 6:30 am to catch a train from Paddington to Bath at 8. We spent the whole day exploring the town (literally. We didn’t leave until 9:15 pm) but I am not complaining. Bath is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever had the pleasure of exploring. I don’t remember much of it from my last trip there, so I was glad to go back. We began the day exploring the Roman Baths and reading about the history (which never fails to captivate me). The whole excursion ends with a taste of the baths, which is not a good taste at all. It’s warm earth water, so what does one expect? We then headed to the Royal Crescent and explored the parks for a few hours. I would do anything to live there, but that requires loads of money, and as a poor American college student, loads of money isn’t in my vocabulary. Someone from Bath want to marry me? Just kidding. But seriously, it is a beautiful place. After we explored for a while, a few people wanted to watch the Man U v Liverpool game, but finding a pub large and empty enough to fit nine people that was also showing the game and cheap enough for all of us proved to be quite a problem. By the time we found a pub, the game was almost over, but Man U won, so YAY! We then stayed to watch the Arsenal v Man City game, and then they put an American football game on. We stayed in the pub for five hours, so that happened. By the time we got back, I was ready to sleep, but I had to prep for my first day of school on Monday!

After two days of classes, I can’t say I know what to expect, but here’s what my life looks like. No classes on Wednesday. Women and Gender Studies 10-1 on Monday. Multiculturalism and the Media from 2-4 on Tuesday at the Harrow campus which is completely hipster and perfect. Cinema as a source for historians from 10-1 on Thursday. Spanish and Latin American Culture: 1900-1960 from 1-3 on Friday. A girl can’t complain. But for now, that’s pretty much all I have to say. Hope everything is going well in your life!

Things I have yet to do:

  • See Chatty Man live.
  • Somehow meet a member of One Direction, one of the Harries twins or Nick Grimshaw 
  • See a West End show (LES MIS)
  • Go to a concert 
  • Get organized

It feels great to be here. London, I love you. 

Leave me a comment!

