Afternoon tea, movie premieres, and evenings at The Torch

Does this mean I’m British yet? Unfortunately it does not, however, this was one of my favorite days in London thus far, and I can’t wait to see what will happen next. I’ve only been here for a week and never want to leave. But anyway, here’s an update. 

Yesterday, a few of my friends and I went to The British Museum before a boat party hosted by our school for study abroad students. We hiked up 175 steps in Russell Square (which are only supposed to be for emergencies) because we didn’t feel like waiting for the lift. Boy was that quite the adventure. And let me tell you, actually making it on time for the boat party made me feel like a Londoner what with running up and down escalators and swerving around people. We made it, and enjoyed a beautiful view on the Thames though. Today was the bes though. Eight of us made our way to The British Museum once again (this time via Holborn) and explored everything we hadn’t the day before. We made it on time for our afternoon tea and had a wonderful time eating scones and finger sandwiches and little pastries. (I’m liking British lingo by the way.) If you haven’t had a scone, go get one now and eat it. It’s the most heavenly thing on the planet. We all stuffed quite a few into our purses (except for Stu. Since he’s a guy, he had us hold his). Afterwards, we wandered around for a bit and stumbled into Leicester Square where Django Unchained was premiering. I got to see Jamie Foxx and Samuel L. Jackson and Quentin Tarentino and Christoph Waltz in person, and I almost died. Needless to say, we intend on going to every movie premiere that we can. After that, we made our way back to Wembley and hit up the local pub, The Torch. I haven’t laughed as hard as I did throughout our whole conversation in quite some time. I love my friends here already, and I can’t wait for more adventures. We just purchased day tickets to Bath for this weekend, so I’m looking forward to that trip. Everything here is more perfect than I could have imagined, and I understand why I always wanted to move here. The environment is everything I dreamt of. I feel at home. Well, tomorrow consists of the Harrow campus tour and shopping at Camden Market, so I’ll write more later. Goodnight folks, may your 2013 be getting off to a beautiful start. 

Leave me a comment!

