Nine days

Today is Christmas. In nine days, I will be heading on my own adventure to study abroad in London for five months. I’m excited to live in a big city and immerse myself in British culture, but I’m also terrified beyond belief. I will be flying by myself for the first time, so I’m scared about missing my layover flight, going through customs, having everything I need for customs, forgetting something, and getting lost. I’ll be living in a big city for the first time, so I’m scared of getting confused on the Tube, not understanding night buses, getting lost, missing classes, not having enough money, and running into trouble. I’m scared of heading on this new adventure, but I’m thrilled to have the opportunity. I’m sad to leave my family and friends for so long. I’m sad that I won’t be in Athens next semester — I really am going to miss that small, quaint town. But instead of ramshackle houses and disgusting dorms filled with freshmen who can’t hold their liquor, I’ll be living right next to Wembley Stadium with five students in an apartment, each with our own bedroom and bathroom. I’m gathering my things, I’m packing my life away, and I’m preparing to embark across the great Atlantic Ocean. I don’t know how the rest of break is going to go, I don’t know how next semester is going to go, but I do know that I’m ready, no matter how scared I may be.

Leave me a comment!

